Articles

for the NOM in NOMAD: Budapest

In Uncategorized on June 5, 2016 by teru

Hiya, it’s been a while. And the one thing that has not changed is my writing inconsistency. :D ..yay. I’m at least consistent in my inconsistency … .__.

But anyway! A quick life update is due, I guess.
In September I started my master’s degree, which I am now trying to graduate. Again. BOO. Haha, I’m just so tired. But then again, in comparison to everything else, I am still digging learning and the academic field of work. I find it to be most ..uplifting/rewarding, really. Being in an environment where curiosity is a mandate/way-of-life just feels ..right. It doooes get tiring af, but hey, it’s the least of the sacrifices I can/am willing to make. ;) So last February or so, I found a PhD position for sensor technology, and I applied just to ..see. To my surprise, I got it. whaaat. the. heeeell. :D So I’ll graduate this master’s soon, and start the PhD program at University Twente on mid October. :) More on that later, then. :)

Furthermore, I have just been working/derping around in Groningen, whichh is a MUCH better place than Assen, yo. I think imma even miss it. Well okay that does not say much, I got to miss a lot of places/things anyway. hahaha.

But anyway, getting to the post’s title. I’ve lived in/been to different places these past years, that I even felt like a nomad from time to time. It has its ups and downs. But one of the best perks: food. I’ve got to try different food, learnt to cook different things, heard about different food. So I think I’m gonna start a series of posts dedicated for this, aka the NOM in NOMAD. :D A small problem is that I haaate taking pics of food before eating them. I mean, you have food in front of you, go eat it goddammit! But well maybe I’ll figure something out.

To kick the series off: Budapest! I went to Budapest in April with the one and only Taija. We stayed for a week, at an Airbnb, perfect location, nice place+host, good rate! Hit me up if you ever need the contact.

The city itself was bonkers pretty. And as per uze, we ate our faces off. :) Two different food highlights tho: the spring festival at downtown Pest, and my first (well, okay maybe second) Michelin star experience! Idk if you can count Tim Ho Wan (dimsum place in HK), they do have Michelin star, and THUUUUPER GOOD dimsum (god i miss it), but the experience was totally different. :)

Here are pics from the city sight-seeing and the spring festival food. <3

As for the Michelin restaurant, we went Onyx, also in downtown Pest. We even had the tasting menu: an 8 course meal! And doy, what can I say, I even came to think that I had never ‘eaten’ before. I always thought that I wouldn’t be classy enough to be able to enjoy this kind of place (i.e. big plate, small chunks of pretty food in the middle), but hey proved me wrong. Because apparently I could, and I diiiid. I enjoyed it immensely. Hands down, best meal I’ve ever had. :) Best dish was their second: sashimi something. I had nevverr tasted something SO UMAMI yet so balanced and rich. And well, the pretty plates didn’t hurt either. :P I mean look at them:

photo credits: Taija Surma-aho (the Bebek)

That being said (and shown), I’d still go for taste before the ‘frill’ tho, e.g. one of their entrees, the supposedly ‘deconstructed’ Goulash soup, was too frilly that I didn’t really think they went together. Meat was served in a ravioli style, with separate broth. Broth was sooo downright beefy that it was overwhelming. I just didn’t get the goulash-y comfort from it. And actually the other entree, fawn, was also my least favorite course. It was the prettiest course, but the flavours were just ..unmingling, to say the least. But all in all, VERY rewarding experience. Worth every penny and the fact that I can only afford to eat dust-bunnies till the summer now. :)) haha.

Speaking of summer, the family is coming to Europe this summer!! For my grad, as well to travel! The moopa/mooma and the Andrew for 2 weeks-ish, and the Gabz for the whole month! :D ZO. EXCITED. Gonna make some more food-trips then FOSHO. ;)

Okay, I think it’s already too long a post for pointless ..blabla’s, haha. But it’s just somethings that I want to remember, with pretty pics. And this being the easiest platform for it, you may just have to deal with it. :)

Aight, gotta get back to work.

Szia, till lata! xx

Leave a Reply

